Skip to Content

For 14 Korbel Students, Postgraduate Life Just Took Shape

Back to Article Listing


Korbel Communications

Article  •

By Colin Babikian, Editorial Assistant

8,065 applicants. 1,100 finalists.  16 University of Denver students. 14 Korbel School Graduate students. Over the winter break, a select few University of Denver students were selected as Presidential Management Fellows finalists, a prestigious federal program designed to develop future government leaders. These finalists commit to a two-year appointment ripe with professional and personal development opportunities.

"We are thrilled to see 14 Korbel students and recent graduates selected as Presidential Management Fellows this year, an all-time record for the School!" says Rae Ann Bories-Easley, Director of the Korbel School's Office of Career and Professional Development. "It’s clear that more Korbel students are applying for this opportunity and are well prepared to become leaders in the U.S. government."

Global Economic Affairs student Henry Heilbroner, expressed his excitement about the selection, "Being a PMF finalist gives me the opportunity to not only apply a decade worth of economics experience, but to do so in a capacity that advances the interests of the United States and the world. I am ever grateful to my professors, mentors, advisors, and colleagues at DU who helped me get here."

Another student, Janet Hernandez, who is studying International Development, says she is “excited to pursue a career in foreign affairs with the federal government and Korbel has played a big part in giving me this opportunity.”

Marley Schafer, an International Security student echoed a similar sentiment, saying “I’m honored to be participating in the PMF program and excited for the opportunity. I am very grateful for the guidance and assistance provided by the Office of Career and Professional Development at Korbel and feel I have benefited greatly from their services over the past two years.” As the school year winds down, the post-graduate school path for a few became much clearer.

2022 Presidential Management Fellows finalists:

Ethan Cryer – International Security Studies

Spencer Aitken – College of Law

Grace LaMendola – Global Economic Affairs

Henry Heilbroner – Global Economic Affairs

Janet Hernandez – International Development

Graham Everett – International Security

Marley Schafer – International Security

Brady Russell – International Security

Melissa Roggero – International Studies

Kiahna Stephens – International Security

Jenna Johnson – International Studies

Rishi Pant – International Studies

Lindsay Tryba – International Security

Gerrit Grande – International Studies

Glenn Hogue – Business Management

Martha Yohannes – Public Policy

Related Articles